Police restrict movement for bye-election in five Lagos LGAs

Police restrict movement for bye-election in five Lagos LGAs

The Lagos State police command has restricted movement in Somolu, Kosofe, Epe, Ikorodu, and Ibeju-Lekki local government areas in Lagos State due

‘Reduce your sexual rounds’ – Ghana Police advise officers to save energy for election security
Just in: Candidates boycott Ohaneze Ndigbo election as Obiozor emerges President-General
Moh’d Bazoum defeats incumbent, Ousmane in Niger presidential election

The Lagos State police command has restricted movement in Somolu, Kosofe, Epe, Ikorodu, and Ibeju-Lekki local government areas in Lagos State due to the Lagos-East by-election which will hold on Saturday.

The Police Public Relations Officer, Muyiwa Adejobi, said in a tweet that the restriction will be from 6am to 6pm. The tweet read, “POLICE PRESS RELEASE, LAGOS STATE POLICE COMMAND, DATED 3RD DECEMBER, 2020.


“In a bid to have free, fair and credible bye elections into the Lagos East Senatorial and Kosofe 11 Constituency, Lagos State House of Assembly seats, the Lagos State Police Command has declared restriction of movement between 6am and 6pm on Saturday, 5th December, 2020.

“The Commissioner of Police , Lagos State, CP Hakeem Odumosu, made the declaration today Thursday 3rd December, 2020 while deliberating on the strategies put in place with the election monitoring officers deployed from the Force Headquarters, Abuja, to assist and monitor the elections in Lagos State.

“The election monitoring team, which comprises two Commissioners of Police, some Assistant Commissioners of Police and other officers, led by the Commissioner of Police, Community Policing, Force Headquarters, CP Kola Okunola, reported to Lagos State Command today 3rd December, 2020, in preparation for the deployment and monitoring of police personnel and other security agents detailed for the election duties.

“The Command has deployed a reasonable number of police personnel and other security agents to cover and provide security at the one thousand, nine hundred and twenty eight (1,928) polling units in the areas.

“The Commissioner of Police reiterated that there will not be both vehicular and pedestrian movement in and out of the affected Local Government Areas during the elections, except those on election duties, essential services and accredited domestic and foreign election observers. The affected Local Government Areas for the two legislative seats include Epe, Ibeju Lekki, Kosofe and Somolu.

“The Police Boss warned the electorate and political gladiators to play the game according to the rules and provisions of the Electoral Acts 2010. He also warned that no police aides or security agents will be allowed to escort their principals or any Very Important Personalties (VIPs) to polling units or on any movement while the elections last, noting that any security aides violating this directive will be arrested and made to face the full weight of the law.

“CP Hakeem Odumosu assured the general public of safety and smooth conduct of the elections. He reaffirmed the commitment of the police to achieving free, fair, credible and acceptable elections in the affected Local Government Areas.

Candidates from 12 political parties will be contesting in the Lagos East Senatorial by-elections while eight candidates will be contesting the Kosofe Constituency II, Lagos State House of Assembly by-elections. The contestants for the senatorial election are Muyiwa Adebanjo, Action Alliance; Ms Mercy Adeoye, African Action Congress, and John Kome, African Democratic Congress.

Others are Adebowale Ogunlaru, Action Democratic Party; Adetokunbo Abiru, All Progressives Congress; Olusola Babatope, Allied Peoples Movement; Mrs Florence Trautman, Labour Party; and Ms Adijat Lawal, New Nigeria Peoples Party. They also include Babatunde Gbadamosi, Peoples Democratic Party; Akin Olukunle, National Rescue Movement; Saheed Aluko, Social Democratic Party and Taiwo Temitope, Young Progressive Party.

The eight contestants for the Kosofe Constituency II bye-election are John Akerele, AA; Sadiq Olawale, AAC; Wasiu Saheed, APC; Adekunle Oladapo, LP; Muyideen Agoro, NNPP; Ademorin Adelaja, NRM; Sikiru Alebiosu, PDP and Mrs Mary Abojeh, ADC.

The two bye-elections, slated for December 5, became necessary following the demise of the former occupants who were members of APC.